Serving the people of Dursley

Your Town Councillors

Dursley Town Council covers the Parish Boundary of Dursley and is sub-divided into three wards (Kingshill, Central and Highfields). There are 17 members who are re-elected every 4 years.

Town Council Elections - May 2021

Local Government Elections were held across the Country on Thursday 6th May 2021, including all 17 Town Councillor positions in Dursley.

A total of 16 Town Councillors were appointed in the election process. The appointments were "uncontested" therefore there is no actual ballot required in Dursley.

What do councillors do?

Councillors are the champions of their community and give residents a voice on the decisions the council makes. Becoming a councillor will allow you to make a real difference in your community by engaging with residents, local groups and businesses to find out their needs; making decisions on which services and projects the council should take forward; and getting involved locally to ensure the services are meeting your community's needs.

How long does it take?

The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) Local Councillor Census Survey found that councillors put aside, on average, three hours a week for council work. This often includes attending meetings, engaging with residents and speaking on behalf of the council to other bodies.

Can I stand?

There are only a few rules to stand for election. You must be:

He/she is a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland or a relevant citizen of the Union and on the relevant day he/she has attained the age of eighteen years and

(a) on that day he/she is and thereafter he continues to be a local government elector for the area of the authority; or
(b) he/she has during the whole of the twelve months preceding that day occupied as owner or tenant any land or other premises in that area; or
(c) his/her principal or only place of work during that twelve months has been in that area; or
(d) he/she has during the whole of those twelve months resided in that area; or
(e) in the case of a member of a parish or community council he/she has during the whole of those twelve months resided either in the parish or community or within three miles of it.

How can I get involved?

Contact the Town Clerk to find out more or visit

Your Current Councillors

Your other Local Elected Representatives

Stroud District Council

Cllr Doina Cornell
Tel: 01453 548657

Cllr Loraine Patrick
Tel: 07881 581189

Cllr Trevor Hall
Tel: 07881 581189

Gloucestershire County Council


Cllr Wendy Thomas

Member of Parliament


Siobhan Bailley MP
House of Commons


Last updated: Thu, 03 Aug 2023 13:22