Serving the people of Dursley

Dursley Has A New Mayor & Deputy Mayor

Dursley Has A New Mayor & Deputy Mayor

At the annual meeting of Dursley Town Council on Tuesday evening (2nd May) the Councillors voted to appoint Cllr Alex Stennett as Mayor for 2023/24. Cllr Stennett accepted the appointment and was handed the Mayoral Chain by the outgoing Mayor Symon Ackroyd.

Cllr Stennett becomes the 14th Mayor of Dursley.

Cllr Stennett moved to Dursley in 1999 and joined the Council in July 2007, Cllr Stennett is currently the second longest serving Town Councillor and has been Chair of the Green Spaces committee for the last 10 years.

At the same meeting a new Deputy Mayor, Cllr Matt Nicholson was appointed. Cllr Nicholson is one of the most experienced Town Councillors having returned for a second term in April 2022 following a short break from Council due to work commitments.

The Council's Committe membership were reviewed and the following Councillors were appointed the Committee Chairs:

Green Spaces - Cllr Darren Horn
Town Improvements - Cllr Danae Savvidou
Planning - Cllr Matt Nicholson
Policy & Finance - Cllr Sue Creswick
Staffing - Cllr Symon Ackroyd

Posted: Wed, 03 May 2023 08:47 by John Kay

Tags: 2023/24, Mayor